The Sound That Moves Me

Music has always been an important part of my life. It has helped me through the bad, and has helped me express the happiness that I felt. My taste of music has a large and broad range that reaches almost all ends of the spectrum when it comes to what I like to listen to. I was first opened to music through my oldest sister who was obsessed with the punk rock of the 2000s. Bands like My Chemical Romance, Fall Out Boy, Green Day, and so on. I guess you could say that she was going through her “rebellious phase” when she listened to the music, but the sound of the guitars, drums, and singing was enchanting to me.

I listened to the punk rock genre for quite  while, but it expanded when I was introduced to the topic of country music. Being raised in the south, I was shown country rather quickly with it playing in everyones car and in restaurants. Singers like George Strait, WillieNelson, Blake Shelton, and others showed me that one of the quickest ways into a woman heart is a good country song and being a gentlemen. Country music was slow was great music to dance to in the middle of the night out in the woods with friends after Friday night’s football game. Country music is what showed me the beauty of playing a acoustic guitar and the simple pleasures in life.

Being hispanic there was no shortage of my heritage being shown the Saturday nights that my family spent together. We would all meet at my Aunt’s house at least 30 minutes out of town where we would grill, have a good time, explore the woods, and just make family memories that I will never forget. When the Spanish music came on, all bets were off that it was going to be a good night with my family. The second that one of Cornelio Reyna songs came on, or Jose Alfredo Jimenez came into play I was dancing on my feet with one of my Aunts for hours in the night.

Over the years I have been shown and ended up liking many other of artists and bands no matter what kind of style of music. I listen to Blink 182, Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, Two Door Cinema, AC/DC, Metallica, Muse, Shaggy, Afroman, Sean Paul, Maroon 5, 30 Seconds to Mars, and so much more. There is not much that I haven’t heard or won’t know the lyrics when a song comes on. Today I listen more along the lines of rap and R&B music. Artists like Drake, Chance The Rapper, Kendrick Lamar, J. Cole, and other rappers who are dominating the charts and radios. I do not really have a favorite artist or even a favorite type of genre of music. I always tell anyone who asks me,”What is your favorite type of music?” that I listen to anything that has a good sound and lyrics.

Word Count: 505

Leave a Reply

