A New look For An Old Tale

51l5zd0iwbl-_sx324_bo1204203200_
Romeo & Juliet By Gareth Hinds

Jumping right into this post, I have to say that I have never been Shakespeare’s biggest fan, and honestly probably will never be even relatively close to actually enjoying his works. Coming out and saying that seems harsh, and the reason I feel that way is probably because I have never read his work out of pure enjoyment, only because it was mandatory in high school, and in college. That being said, I recently read a different version of the classic Romeo and Juliet story. A graphic novel made by Gareth Hinds gave a different outlook of the characters and stuck to the original story well.

It is kind of hard to tell you guys that I am going to avoid the story of Romeo and Juliet because I have never ran across from anyone who actually hasn’t read one incarnation or another of the old tale. Hinds vision was something that threw me off at first sight, I am pretty good at geography, and it came to my surprise that the Montague’s and the Capulet’s were definitely not the average Italian of that time period. I am not too sure what Hinds was going for in the story as he changed the background of the characters, but it did give a more diverse aspect than what I am used to when I think of Romeo and Juliet.

Other than that the story was pretty much the same if my memory serves me right. The characters played the same role as two teenagers fall in love and that they come from two different families that are not to fond for each other. Saying that the difference in the diversity of the cast, and the fact that there is actually a graphic novel of Romeo and Juliet, I was not really impressed with the book at all. I mean for a Shakespeare classic it was really everything I expected it to be and nothing more. If you are a fan of Romeo and Juliet, I would recommend this book as a new outlook on the story, but if Shakespeare has never been the type of stories to interest you, I would hold off on reading Gareth Hinds version of the classic tragedy.

Word Count: 378

9 thoughts on “A New look For An Old Tale

  1. I hated Shakespeare, too, until I saw Franco Zeffirelli’s Romeo and Juliet. I guess I was in high school. As I watched that beautiful thing I realized Shakespeare never meant to torture kids in English classes. He meant people to go to his theater and watch plays, popular theater, not arcane snooty BS to be analyzed and revered, but the real stuff, bawdy, wild, human, magical, passionate, sorrowful. After that, I became a fan. 🙂

    Like

      1. Naw. Bill deserves a real chance. School wrecks a lot of things for people. I hated Hemingway, too, because I was forced to read The Old Man and the Sea in 9th grade and NO 9th grader should like that book; it’s about adult disillusionment. 15? Right? Stupid… ANYwho, you might like The Tempest. It’s magic through and through. I think the film version with Helen Mirren as Prospero is amazing, and brave, as Prospero was written as the heroine’s father, but Helen Mirren is incredible. I saw it on stage a couple years ago (again) and was blown away. The monster, Caliban, says to Prospero, “You taught me language, and my profit on ’t
        Is I know how to curse.” 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

